Bangalore Open BJJ championship: Institute of Jiu-Jitsu Bangalore comes out on top

More from author

Renjith Ravindran
An engineer by luck and a sports writer by passion, Renjith has been covering various sports for almost half a decade. He has received praise from the likes of WWE superstars Paul Heyman and Natalya for his work and has also interviewed some notable names from the business. He is constantly looking out for creative challenges that excite him and finds beauty in the art of Combat Sports.
- Advertisement -

The Bangalore International Open BJJ championship was wrapped up last day at the Rajiv Gandhi Indoor sports complex in Srinagar, Bangalore.

The open championship had No-Gi and Jiu-Jitsu fights in various weight categories and also had first of its kind BJJ Super fights on showcase.

IJJ Bangalore came out on top in both Jiu-Jitsu and No-Gi Categories

Institute of Jiu-Jitsu Bangalore came out on top in both the Jiu-Jitsu and the No-Gi categories. The team managed to pile up 20 medals (10 Gold, 6 Silver, and 4 Bronze) in the Jiu-Jitsu category and won 21 medals (9 Gold, 8 Silver, and 4 Bronze) in the No-Gi category.

Along with this, they also topped the No-Gi category in the Kids section. The adult team was led by Rohit Vasudevan while coaches Asha Badrinath, Saikat Basu and Reuben Jacob led the kids’ competition.

Kimura Martial Arts and Fitness came in second in both the jiu-jitsu and No-Gi categories. They won 14 medals (5 gold, 4 Silver and 5 Bronze) in the Jiu-jitsu category and 14 medals (4 gold,3 silver and 4 bronze) in the No-Gi Category.

While Gado BJJ was third in the No-Gi Category team rankings, Carlos Toyota BJJ was third in the jiu-jitsu category.

The Super Fight Results:

The BJJ super-fight between Kantharaj Agasa and Chaitanya Gavali was one of the biggest attractions of the event. As mentioned earlier, it was first of its kind in India and Agasa managed to get the better of Gavali and won via submission.

Kantharaj Agasa defeated Chaitanya Gavali

Elsewhere, Asha Badrinath, Lachlan Conway and Debojit Dasgupta also secured wins in their respective super-fights.

Below are the results of the super fights.

  • Kantharaj Agasa def. Chaitanya Gavali
  • Asha Badrinath def. Archana G
  • Lachlan Conway def. Chethan Ashwathama
  • Debojit Dasgupta def. David Chhangte

If any content is used from this article, kindly backlink to this page.

If you like reading about sports, make sure you check out
Also follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at

- Advertisement -
Exit mobile version