Boxing: Indian team for the 2018 Commonwealth games announced

More from author

Renjith Ravindran
An engineer by luck and a sports writer by passion, Renjith has been covering various sports for almost half a decade. He has received praise from the likes of WWE superstars Paul Heyman and Natalya for his work and has also interviewed some notable names from the business. He is constantly looking out for creative challenges that excite him and finds beauty in the art of Combat Sports.
- Advertisement -

The Indian boxing team for the 2018 Commonwealth Games was announced last day. For the first time, the team was selected without the conventional trials.

MC Mary Kom is hands down the biggest name in the squad. Her selection to the team was not a big surprise as she had won two gold and a silver medal in the last four months. She will be competing in the 48 KG category.

- Advertisement -

Vikas Krishan is another big name that made the cut. Though he was behind Mandeep Jangra in the 75 KG points system, the world bronze-medallist was selected due to the gold medal and the best boxer trophy he got at Strandja Memorial.

Manoj Kumar made the cut into the team (PC: My Khel)

2010 commonwealth games medallist Major Kumar will compete in the 69KG category and he will be coming into the tournament on the back of a bronze medal at the Indian Open championship. Amit Panghal’s gold medals at the Indian Open and the Strandja Memorial earned him a spot in the 49 KG category as well.

Major Omissions

- Advertisement -

The absence of Shiva Thapa and Gaurav Bidhuri from the squad is notable. Shiva made way for Manish Kaushik who had defeated Shiva back in the National Championships and the Indian Open Semi-finals. Meanwhile, Gaurav Bidhuri was replaced by Mohammed Hussamuddin. Interestingly, Bidhuri has not fought since winning the World Championships Bronze as he was recovering from a back injury. Manish will be fighting in the 60 KG category whereas Hussamuddin will compete at 56 KG.

In the women’s category, Lovlina Borgoahin was picked for the 69KG category along with Sarita Devi who will compete in the 60KG category.

While these boxers were selected without trials, there will be trials for male boxers in the 91 KG category and the 52 Kg category.

Below is the complete list of boxers selected so far.


  • Amit Panghal (49kg)
  • Mohammed Hussamuddin (56kg)
  • Manish Kaushik (60kg)
  • Manoj Kumar (69kg)
  • Vikas Krishan (75kg)
  • Satish Kumar (+91kg)


  • M C Mary Kom (48kg)
  • Lovlina Borgoahin (69 kg)
  • L Sarita Devi (60kg).

If any content is used from this article, kindly backlink to this page.

If you like reading about sports, make sure you check out
Also follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at

- Advertisement -

Related articles

Exit mobile version