UFC Norfolk Results: Deiveson Figueiredo smashes Joseph Benavidez to get the win but not the belt

- Advertisement -

UFC on ESPN+ 27 featured a title bout for flyweight royalty as veteran Joseph Benavidez took on powerhouse Deiveson Figueiredo.

Figueiredo missed weight therefore belt was not the line for him. The UFC however will leave Norfolk without a flyweight champ as Figueiredo defeated Benavidez via TKO in the second round.

Benavidez was going well until a headbutt gushed a huge cut on his forehead. An already concussed Benavidez then went down due to a huge right hand. This was his third title shot and unfortunately his streak of bad luck in them continued.

The main card kicked off with a bantamweight bout between Grant Dawson and Darrick Minner. Minner a 34 fight veteran took the fight on short notice, however Dawson did what he does the best. He secured a second round submission win via rear naked choke.

The card had a slugfest between between Ion Cutelaba and Magomed Ankalaev. The bout started with a lot of animosity even before the fight. The fight however turned out your be anticlimactic. Ankalaev had Cutelaba on wobbly legs with a right hand. Cutelaba however was still landing strikes with referee Kevin MacDonald stopping the fight midway. Cutelaba though wobbled, was still on his feet and the MMA community called the stoppage extremely premature.

The card also featured two fights of the most least populated weight class in the UFC, women’s featherweight division. Former Invicta FC champ Megan Anderson secured a huge knockout win over Norma Dumont. Later on in the co-main, Felicia Spencer also got an impressive TKO win over Zarah Fairn.

Champ Amanda Nunes who is looking to defend her featherweight belt next, took to social media claiming she likes both the fighters. It is now up to the UFC as to who presents first.

The final results were as follows:

Main card

Deiveson Figueiredo def. Joseph Benavidez via second-round TKO (1:54) (live blog)

Felicia Spencer def. Zarah Fairn dos Santos via first-round TKO (3:37)

Magomed Ankalaev def. Ion Cutelaba via first-round TKO (0:38)

Megan Anderson def. Norma Dumont Viana via first-round KO (3:31) | Watch finish

Grant Dawson def. Darrick Minner via submission (RNC) (R2, 1:38)


Kyler Phillips def. Gabriel Silva via UD (30-27 x3)

Brendan Allen def. Tom Breese via first-round TKO (4:47)

Marcin Tybura def. Serghei Spivac via UD (30-27 x2, 29-28)

Luis Pena def. Steve Garcia via unanimous decision (30-27 x3)

Jordan Griffin def. T.J. Brown via sub (guillotine) (R2, 3:38) | Watch finish

Spike Carlyle def. Aalon Cruz via first-round TKO (1:25) | Watch finish

Sean Brady def. Ismail Naurdiev via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Read also:



If any content is used from this article, kindly backlink to this page.

If you like reading about sports, make sure you check out SportsIndiaShow.com
Also follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

- Advertisement -

Related articles

Exit mobile version