Matrix Fight Night 8 Results: Srikant Sekhar loses to Zahor Shah, The Afghan Lion wins main event

- Advertisement -

Star Indian mixed martial artist Srikant “Captain Crazy” Sekhar, who made his fifth Matrix Fight Night appearance at the recently concluded Matrix Fight Night 8, taking place in New Delhi on 1st April, suffered a first round knockout defeat against Afghan fighter Zahor Shah.

The fight was originally set to take place Sekhar, who recently collaborated The MMA India Show for a mini web series documenting his preparations and the buildup to his fight against Shah, was originally set to face the Aghan at MFN 7, but the bout was later postponed and was added to the MFN 8 fight card.

The fight saw a quick, match-winning knockout from Shah right in the first round of the fight, taking his pro MMA record to 2-0, while breaking Sekhar’s one fight win streak since the Indian fighter defeated Satyajit Changmai at MFN 6 which took place in Dubai.

Aside from the Sekhar vs Shah bout, MFN 8 saw a heavily stacked fight card, headlined by a featherweight clash between Abdul Azim Badakhshi and Fabricio Oliveira. The main event saw three rounds of highly competitive contest between the Afghan and the Brazilian, but it was Abdul who remained ahead with his superb striking over Oliveira and earned a victory via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28).

The co-main event featured Sanjeet Budhwar and Dhruv Chaudhary, with the latter coming in hard in the first round. However, Budhwar turned things around in the second and finished off the fight with clinical striking.

Chungreng Koren and Aman Saini were featured in the first bout of the night. After a neck to neck first round, Koren took the helm of the fight with a takedown on Saini, followed by some heavy ground and pound to secure a 2nd round victory.

MFN 8 saw another featherweright bout between Rahul Thapa and Kushal Vyas. Thapa kept the momentum up throughout the fight and was able to get Kushan down on the canvas and land a barrage of fights on him before the referee stepped in.

Sagar Thapa earned a split decision win over Tanish Gupta up next in a tight back and forth fight which went the distance. Two judges had scored the bout in favor of Thapa (30-27, 30-27) while the third judge favored Gupta (28-29).

Bonjovi and Musa Raish squared off in their highly anticipated Flyweight rematch. Musa, who had won the first fight, delivered another beatdown on Bonjovi and secured a win in the third round.

Shyamanand earned a dominating victory in the grudge fight against rival Krishna Heer. After a slow start to the bout with both fighters taking close range shots, Shyamanand took the fight to the canvas, with some heavy ground and pound on Heer to secure the win in the first round.

Indian MMA superstars Angad Bisht and Chaitanya Gavali faced off up next in a bantamweight bout. The fight started off with Gavali building up pressure on Bisht, who switched the flow of the fight in the second round, with a brutal jab that dropped Gavali, followed by executing a rear naked choke as his opponent tapped out.

Matrix Fight Night 8 full results:

  • Abdul Azim Badakhshi defeats Fabricio Oliveira via Unanimous Decision ((29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Sanjeet Budhwar defeats Dhruv Chaudhary via TKO (Round 2)
  • Zahoor Shah defeats Srikant Sekhar via TKO (Round 1)
  • Angad Bisht defeats Chaitanya Gavali via Submission (Round 2)
  • Shyamanand defeats Krishna Heer via TKO (Round 1)
  • Rahul Thapa defeats Kushal Vyas via TKO (Round 1)
  • Musa Raish defeats Bonjovi via TKO (Round 3)
  • Sagar Thapa defeats Tanish Gupta via Split Decision (28-29, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Chungreng Koren defeats Aman Saini via TKO (Round 2)

If any content is used from this article, kindly backlink to this page.

If you like reading about sports, make sure you check out
Also follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at

Exit mobile version