Indian MMA: New talent rises at 2nd AIMMAF National MMA Championship in Delhi

- Advertisement -

The recently concluded All India Mixed Martial Arts Federation in Delhi saw the rise of several new amateur prospects from various states which would definitely be good news for the future of Indian MMA. Around 100 competitors from more than 15 states participated in the 2nd National MMA Championship which took place at International Health and Fitness Festival’s Sheru Classic event.

- Advertisement -

There were a total of 10 weight categories for men’s division and 5 categories for the women’s division with standout performances from fighters like Rahul Thapa (Haryana), Sultan Hasnain (Telangana), Kekhrieneitso Angami (Nagaland) who won the award for Best Fighter and Best Submission and Siddharth Sharma (Delhi) and Rakesh Singh (Maharashtra) delivered a cracker of a fight to decide the winner of the Bantamweight category. Another contender for the fight of the tournament was between Siddharth Trivedi (UP) and Anshuman (Delhi) in the Featherweight finals.

- Advertisement -

The heavier categories were decided by dominant finishes with both Heavyweight winner Karan Patil (Maharashtra) and Light Heavyweight winner Rahul Yadav (UP) won in the first round while Middleweight winner Siddharth Tariyal (Uttarakhand) defeated Abdul Qadir Khan (Rajasthan) by Technical Knockout after both swung heavy leather in the first round.

Female fighters too did not disappoint as Prakriti Verma from Delhi secured the Atomweight crown with the hometown crowd supporting her and Yanyang Pullom came all the way from Arunachal Pradesh to earn a hard fought victory over Bhavya Pande (Delhi) in the Fly weight division. In the Lightweight category Disha Khemlani (Maharashtra) won by Technical Knockout over Lavi Kumari (Delhi) while Evanka Brown (Maharashtra) wowed the audience by choking out Anita (HP) with a standing guillotine.


Team Championship:

Winner: Delhi

Runner Up: Maharashtra

2nd Runner Up: Uttar Pradesh

Men’s Division

Straw weight (48-52) kg

1. Karan Kumar (Delhi)

2. Raunak Khambalkar (Maharashtra)

3. Roshan Shetty (Maharashtra)

Pin weight (52-54) kg

1. Arsenba (NAG)

2. Pravin Yadav (MH)

3. Sachin Kaliramna (MH)

Fly weight (54-57) kgs

1. Deepesh Baghel (UP)

2. Taj Mohammed (GUJ)

3. Arun (DEL)

Bantam weight (57-61) kg

1. Siddharth Sharma (DEL)

2. Rakesh Singh (MH)

3. Nikunj Sharma (HR)

Feather weight (61-66) kg

1. Siddharth Trivedi (UP)

2. Anshuman (DEL)

3. Aaquib Javid (J&K)

Light weight (66-70) kg

1. Kekhrieneitso Angami (NAG)

2. Sagar (DEL)

3. Mohammad Sarwag (UP)

Welter weight (70-77) kg

1. Rahul Thapa (HR)

2. Sultan Hasnain (TEL)

3. Pawan Gujjar (RAJ)

Middle weight (77-84) kg

1. Siddharth Tariyal (UK)

2. Abdul Qadir Khan (RAJ)

3. Balakrishna Patange (MH)

Light Heavy weight (84-93) kg

1. Rahul Yadav (UP)

2. Narender (DEL)

3. Kushil Joshi (MH)

Heavy weight (93- 120) kg

1. Karan Patil (MH)

2. Navneet Singh (UP)

Women’s Division

Atom weight (43-48) kg

1. Prakri Verma (DEL)

2. Jincy Joshwa (RAJ)

Straw weight (48-52) kg

1. Evanka Brown (MH)

2. Aarti Khatri (DEL)

Fly weight (54-57) kg

1. Yanyang Pullom (Arunachal Pradesh)

2. Bhavya Pande (DEL).

Bantam weight (57-61) kg

1. Anita (HP)

2. Sendra Dhaterwal (DEL)

Light weight (66-70) kg

1. Disha Khemlani (MH)

2. Lavi Kumari (DEL)


If any content is used from this article, kindly backlink to this page.

If you like reading about sports, make sure you check out
Also follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at

- Advertisement -

Related articles

Exit mobile version