Sumit Kumar to fight Seung Guk Choi at Road to UFC on May 27 in Shanghai

- Advertisement -

Indian MMA star Sumit Kumar will take on South Korea’s Seung Guk Choi on 27th May at the UFC Performance Institute in Shanghai, China. The fight will take place in the flyweight division.

The ROAD TO UFC Season 2 competitors have been revealed by the UFC, providing the best chance for Asia’s top MMA talents to compete on a global scale. The initial round will be held over two days, May 27 and 28, at the UFC Performance Institute in Shanghai, China. (UFC PI).

The opening round of ROAD TO UFC Season 2 on May 27 and 28 will air in Asia primetime (GMT +8).

Sumit Kumar to fight Seung Guk Choi at Road to UFC on May 27 in Shanghai

Sumit Kumar talks about his journey in MMA

In an interview with the MMA India Show, Sumit Kumar talked about his journey in MMA.

“I am from Mathura, Uttar Pradesh. I started my career as a wrestler. I wrestled from the early stages of my life, I use to practice in many of the local wrestling gyms in Delhi. After that, I went into the army. I trained in the army for two years then I participated in the 11th World Martial Arts Games which took place in the US. I won the Gold medal in that competition and I was training under Team Alpha Male. There’s a federation that sent me to this competition and fought in the tournament while representing India.” Sumit said in an interview.

Road to UFC contestants for Season 2

Flyweight (>56.7kg)

  • Rei Tsuruya (Japan) vs Ronal Siahaan (Indonesia)
  • Mark Climaco (Philippines) vs Jung Hyun Lee (South Korea)
  • Ji Niushiyue (China) vs Billy Pasulatan (Indonesia)
  • Sumit Kumar (India) vs Seung Guk Choi (South Korea)

Bantamweight (>61.2kg)

  • Xiao Long (China) vs Shohei Nose (Japan)
  • Shuya Kamikubo (Japan) vs Jieleyisi Baergeng (China)
  • Eperaim Ginting (Indonesia) vs Daermisi Zhawupasi (China)
  • Chang Ho Lee (South Korea) vs Rana Rudra Pratap Singh (India)

Featherweight (>65.8kg)

  • Yi Zha (China) vs Abdul Azeem Badakhshi (Afghanistan)
  • Keisuke Sasu (Japan) vs Sang Won Kim (Korea)
  • Yibugele (China) vs Koya Kanda (Japan)
  • Li Kaiwen (China) vs Reza Arianto (Indonesia)

Lightweight (>70.3kg)

  • Seong Chan Hong (South Korea) vs Rong Zhu (China)
  • Kazuma Maruyama (Japan) vs Sang Uk Kim (South Korea)
  • Windri Patilima (Indonesia) vs Shin Haraguchi (Japan)
  • Won Bin Ki (South Korea) vs Batebolati Bahatebole (China)

Non-tournament bouts

  • Flyweight: Top Noi Kiwram (Thailand) vs Nyamjargal Tumendemberel (Mongolia)
  • Flyweight: Sim Kai Xiong (Singapore) vs Peter Danasoe (Thailand)
  • Welterweight: Nueraji Taiyilake (China) vs Han Seul Kim (Korea)
  • Welterweight: Chris Hofmann (Philippines) vs Sang Hoon Yoo (Korea)



If any content is used from this article, kindly backlink to this page.

If you like reading about sports, make sure you check out
Also follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at

Exit mobile version