UFC 278 Result: Leon Edwards SHOCKS Kamaru Usman With 5th Round KO, Wins UFC Welterweight Championship

More from author

Saikat Banerjee
A wordsmith who indulges in the world of combat sports, Saikat Banerjee is an MMA, boxing, and arm wrestling content writer at The MMA India Show and The Sports Room. Apart from combat sports, he also engages in Indian sports content at The Sports India Show. Currently pursuing an MBA from Jadavpur University, Saikat's other interests lie in motorcycling, working out, and travelling.
- Advertisement -

In possibly the biggest upset of the year in MMA, Leon Edwards has pulled off one hell of a shocking result with the fifth round knockout of Kamaru Usman and has become the new UFC Welterweight Champion in the main event of UFC 278 on 20th August at the Vivint Arena in Salt Lake City.

The winning blow came in the fifth round as Edwards feinted a right jab then followed it up with a brutal head kick knocking out Usman in the process, ending the Nigerian’s undefeated UFC streak and becoming the new 170-pound champ in three years.


Main Card

  • UFC Welterweight Championship Main Event: Kamaru Usman (c) . Leon Edwards defeats Kamaru Usman via fifth-round KO (head kick)
  • Middleweight: Paulo Costa defeats Luke Rockhold via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Bantamweight: Merab Dvalishvili defeats Jose Aldo via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
  • Women’s Bantamweight: Lucie Pudilova defeats Wu Yanan via second-round TKO (elbows)
  • Light Heavyweight: Tyson Pedro defeats Harry Hunsucker via first-round TKO (punches)

Under Card

  • Heavyweight: Marcin Tybura defeats Alexander Romanov via majority decision (29-28, 28-29, 28-28)
  • Lightweight: Jared Gordon defeats Leonardo Santos via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Featherweight: Sean Woodson defeats Luis Saldana ruled a split draw (29-27, 27-29, 28-28)
  • Welterweight: Ange Loosa defeats A.J. Fletcher via unanimous decision (29-27, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Flyweight: Amir Albazi defeats Francisco Figueiredo via first-round submission (rear-naked choke)
  • Bantamweight: Aori Qileng defeats Jay Perrin via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Flyweight: Victor Altamirano defeats Daniel Da Silva via first-round TKO (punches)

Purchase the UFC merch here.

Click to Predict here.


If any content is used from this article, kindly backlink to this page.

If you like reading about sports, make sure you check out SportsIndiaShow.com
Also follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

Exit mobile version