UFC 279 Result: Nate Diaz Defeats Tony Ferguson Via Submission In Round 4

- Advertisement -

After a highly dramatic buildup to the event, UFC 279 featured two fan favourites in the sport Nate Diaz and Tony Ferguson against each other in the main event, which saw Diaz marking a win over Ferguson after choking him out in the fourth round.

Due to Khamzat Chimaev, the one originally slated to face Diaz in the main event, missing weight by a huge margin, the UFC 279 lineup had to undergo a major change. Ferguson was brought up to the main event to face Diaz, while Chimaev was named in a catchweight bout against Kevin Holland. Li Jingliang who was originally scheduled to fight Tony is now set to fight Daniel Rodriguez.

The four rounds of the main event had peculiar approaches from both contenders. However from the third round, ‘El Cucuy’ started to utilize his leg kicks which caused Diaz’s legs to swell up and the Stockton star hovered around the Octagon and went after Ferguson with combinations.

In the fourth, Ferguson went for a takedown, but it quickly turned against him as Diaz locked him instead with a guillotine choke, forcing the tap from Ferguson at the 2:52 minute mark, and fighting out of his UFC contract with a victory.

“Full-blown wrestling fight camp. I didn’t do no boxing. So, we made that happen,” said Diaz after the fight, “I was like, this is such a bitch-ass rookie. I’m not even worried about a bitch-ass rookie.” 


  • Nate Diaz defeats Tony Ferguson via fourth-round submission (guillotine choke)
  • Khamzat Chimaev defeats Kevin Holland via first-round submission (D’Arce choke)
  • Daniel Rodriguez defeats Li Jingliang via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
  • Irene Aldana defeats Macy Chiasson via third-round TKO (upkick)
  • Johnny Walker def. Ion Cutelaba via first-round submission (rear-naked choke)
  • Julian Erosa defeats Hakeem Dawodu via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Jailton Almeida defeats Anton Turkalj via first-round submission (rear-naked choke)
  • Denis Tiuliulin defeats Jamie Pickett via second-round TKO (punches)
  • Chris Barnett defeats Jake Collier via second-round TKO (punches)
  • Norma Dumont defeats Danyelle Wolf via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26, 30-26)
  • Alatengheili defeats Chad Anheliger via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Elise Reed defeats Melissa Martinez via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Yohan Lainesse defeats Darian Weeks via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Purchase the UFC merch here.

Click to Predict here.


If any content is used from this article, kindly backlink to this page.

If you like reading about sports, make sure you check out SportsIndiaShow.com
Also follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

Exit mobile version