UFC 280 Result: Islam Makhachev Submits Charles Oliveira, Wins Lightweight Title

More from author

Saikat Banerjee
A wordsmith who indulges in the world of combat sports, Saikat Banerjee is an MMA, boxing, and arm wrestling content writer at The MMA India Show and The Sports Room. Apart from combat sports, he also engages in Indian sports content at The Sports India Show. Currently pursuing an MBA from Jadavpur University, Saikat's other interests lie in motorcycling, working out, and travelling.
- Advertisement -

Former UFC lightweight champion Charles Oliveira (33-9, 1 NC) and Islam Makhachev (23-1) squared off with the vacant UFC lightweight title on the line at the event main event of UFC 280 at the Etihad Arena in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Makhachev, 31, won by submission (arm triangle) in the second round of a one-sided match.

Makhachev, who had vowed to bring the Lightweight belt back to Dagestan, marked his 11th consecutive victory in the Octagon and will now make the first defense of his nascent title against UFC Featherweight champ Alexander Volkanovski in February 2023 at UFC 284. It was Khabib, the former division champion himself, who came to hand over the belt to Makhachev.

On the other hand, its a massive upset for Oliveira who has therefore failed to reclaim the belt that he had won for the first time against Michael Chandler at UFC 262. After a successful defense against Dustin Poirier, the native of Garuja was seen stripped of his title during the weigh-in for his UFC 274 fight against Justin Gaethje after failing to make the 155-pound limit.


Main Card

  • UFC Lightweight Championship: Islam Makhachev defeats Charles Oliveira via second-round submission (head and arm choke)
  • UFC Bantamweight Championship: Aljamain Sterling (c) defeats TJ Dillashaw via second-round TKO (punches)
  • Bantamweight: Sean O’Malley defeats Petr Yan via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
  • Lightweight: Beneil Dariush defeats Matuesz Gamrot via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
  • Catchweight (127.5 lb): Manon Fiorot defeats Katlyn Chookagian via unanimous (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Preliminary Card

  • Welterweight: Belal Muhammad defeats Sean Brady via second-round TKO (punches)
  • Middleweight: Caio Borralho defeats Makhmud Muradov via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
  • Light Heavyweight: Nikita Krylov defeats Volkan Oezdemir via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Welterweight: Abubakar Nurmagomedov defeats Gadzhi Omargadzhiev via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
  • Middleweight: Armen Petrosyan defeats A.J. Dobson via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Flyweight: Muhammad Mokaev defeats Malcolm Gordon via third-round submission (armbar)
  • Bantamweight: Karol Rosa defeats Lina Lansberg via majority decision (29-27, 29-27, 28-28)

Purchase the UFC merch here.

Click to Predict here.


If any content is used from this article, kindly backlink to this page.

If you like reading about sports, make sure you check out SportsIndiaShow.com
Also follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

Exit mobile version